

Minutes Monday, June 4th, 2006 7:00 pm, 269 West Block

Agenda

I. The meeting was called to order at 7:08pm

Members Present:

Sylvie Boucher, députée

Joy Smith, M.P.

Garry Breitkreuz, M.P.

Hon. Judy Sgro, P.C., M.P,

Brian Jean

Hon. Roy Cullen, P.C., M.P.

Art Hanger, M.P.

Russ Hiebert, M.P.

Bev Shipley, M.P.

Deepak Obhrai, M.P.

Dave Van Kesteren, M.P.

John Williams, M.P.

Rod Bruinooge, M.P.

- II. The agenda was unanimously adopted
- III. The Minutes from the AGM of May 2006 were unanimously adopted
- IV. Remarks John Williams, M.P., Chair of CANPAC/GOPAC
 -John Williams spoke about the mission and structure of the Global
 Organization of Parliamentarians Against Corruption (GOPAC's)
 John Williams discussed the role of Canadian Parliamentarians Against
 Corruption (CanPAC) as a national chapter of GOPAC.

- V. Report on activities since last Annual General Meeting
 - i. Role of CanPAC, NAPAC update (Roy Cullen, M.P.)
 - Roy Cullen discussed the importance of CanPAC to
 Canadian Parliamentarians and to GOPAC's global efforts
 - Update on the February 2007 CanPAC delegation trip to Washington, D.C.
 - Update on ongoing US Chapter development
 - Update on the status of GOPAC's anti-money laundering initiative
 - ii. Mentoring Program (Garry Breitkreuz, M.P.)
 - -Garry Breitkreuz updated members on the status of the CanPAC mentoring proposal
 - Discussed the program's aims, structure and methodology
 - iii. Letter to Government of Canada urging ratification of UNCAC (John Williams, M.P.)
 - John Williams updated members on a November 28th letter from the CanPAC Chairman to the Government of Canada urging ratification of the UNCAC.
 - Mr. Williams read portions of a reply to this letter from Foreign Affairs Minister Hon. Peter MacKay. 7:23pm

VI. Administrative Matters

- i. Membership update (Josh McLaren)
 - Josh McLaren (Legislative Assistant to John Williams) gave an update on CanPAC's current paid membership (28 at time of AGM) for 2007.
 - Discussed the eligibility requirements for membership in CanPAC

VII. Election of Board of Directors (Martin Ulrich)

- -Martin Ulrich oversaw the election of the Board of Directors
- -The results of the election were as follows:

Co-Chairs: Hon. Roy Cullen, M.P.

Garry Breitkreuz, M.P.

Members of the Board:

Hon. Judy Sgro, M.P.

Joy Smith, M.P.

Russ Hiebert, M.P.

Senator Consiglio Di Nino

Bev Shipley, M.P.

John Williams, M.P.

Peter Goldring, M.P.

Sylvie Boucher, députée

Dave Van Kesteren, M.P.

Dr. Keith Martin, M.P.

VIII. Other business

-None

IX. Adjournment

- 7:38pm