MINUTES

SECOND GENERAL ASSEMBLY

LATIN AMERICAN PARLIAMENTARIANS AGAINST CORRUPTION

Buenos Aires, Argentina; April 7, 2006

At 9:00 a.m. on April 7, 2006, the Second Assembly of Latin American Parliamentarians Against Corruption met in the Argentine Senate in Buenos Aires. The event was sponsored by the Argentine Senate, the Organization of American States (OAS) and the Global Organization of Parliamentarians Against Corruption (GOPAC) and proceeded as follows:

The opening session was attended by the President of the Global Organization of Parliamentarians Against Corruption (GOPAC), Canadian MP John Williams; Senator Cesar Jáuregui, Vice President of PLACC; Senator Sonia Escudero (Argentina); MP Patricia Vaca Narvaja, First Vice President of the Chamber of Deputies of Argentina; Senator Fernando Rodríguez Calvo; MP Federico Vargas Ulloa (Costa Rica); Jorge Calderón, representing Elizabeth Spehar, Director of the Department for the Promotion of Democracy of the OAS; and MP Rafael Correa Flores (Venezuela).

More than 88 legislators, as well as international authorities and experts on fighting corruption, were in attendance. The legislators represented the following countries: Argentina, Aruba, Bolivia, Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, Ecuador, El Salvador, Guatemala, Mexico, Netherlands Antilles, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, Uruguay and Venezuela.

- 1. Opening of the Second Assembly of PLACC
- 1.1. Report of the Credentials Committee on the accreditation of delegates;
- 1.2. Report of the Secretary General on quorum;

The Secretary General informed the presiding officers that legislators from 17 of the 22 member countries were in attendance, thus exceeding the 50 per cent required in the statutes. Therefore a quorum was present.

1.3. Opening of the session by the President of GOPAC, John Williams, MP, who welcomed the participants and stressed the important work that parliamentarians do on such a difficult issue, bearing in mind that their term in office is short and they work by consensus, which makes for a complex undertaking. Governments work in different ways; they have a president, ministers and bureaucrats. Parliamentarians work in committees with representatives. That is why GOPAC was created. It has members, but it is of prime importance to work with technical organizations that can provide technical expertise. He emphasized that the organization is led by an executive that works with experts and reaches consensus so that it can convert words to action. Legislators oversee the implementation of the laws as written; they represent the people and can decide if the laws are right for society. Their participation feeds and improves the democratic system.

He stressed that the main purpose of LAPAC and GOPAC is to promote parliamentary, political and legislative action against all forms of corruption, as the best way to defend institutional stability and the ethical values of democratic society.

- 1.4 Words from Senator Sonia Escudero, Secretary of the Committees.
- 1.5 Words from Senator Cesar Jáuregui, Vice President of PLACC. He reported on PLACC's progress in working with national and regional organizations to mobilize resources for anti-corruption programs, including support for activities of similar organizations in other regional chapters, sharing information in electronic form, networks and other services, sponsoring national and/or regional anti-corruption workshops, in particular those held in Mexico in 2004 and 2006.

PLACC's action plan was distributed at this time.

1.6 Election of new authorities to the Executive Committee

Then new authorities were elected to the Executive Committee for 2006–2008.

This administrative body of the organization consists of a president, a vice president, a secretary, a treasurer and a member at large elected by the Assembly.

The President of the Assembly put the candidacies received to a vote and they were accepted with a large majority, no one voting against.

The Executive Committee is therefore as follows:

President: Senator Haide Giri (Argentina)
Vice President: Senator César Camacho (Mexico)

Secretary: MP Laura Carneiro (Brazil)

Treasurer: Senator Fernando Rodríguez Calvo (Bolivia)

Member at Large: MP Víctor Chirinos (Venezuela)

1.7 The delegations from the countries participating at the meetings in Buenos Aires on April 6 and 7, 2006, consisted of the following legislators:

ARGENTINA

Sen. Haide Giri

Sen. Eva Azucena Paz

Sen. Sonia Escudero

MP Paola Zasona Spatola

Sen. Carlos Alberto Rossi

MP Nora del Valle Gimenez

MP Stella Maris Cittadini de Montes

Virginia Viagi

Mario Patrício Ciriotti

MP Mercedes Marco del Prit

ARUBA

Sen. Valentino E. Arend, Jr.

Sen. Edwin Marcelino Jacobs

Sen. Zulia C Van Poppel Marquez

Sen. Arthur Dowers

Sen. Oslin Sevinger

BOLIVIA

Sen. Fernando Rodriguez Calvo

BRAZIL

MP Cesar Bandeira

MP Gatão Vieira

MP Moroni Torgan

MP César Shimer

MP Orlando Fantazzini

MP Laura Carneiro

MP Roberto Freire

MP Raul Jungmann

CANADA

MP John Williams

CHILE

MP Dario Paya

COSTA RICA

MP Luisa Paulino Rodríguez Mena

MP Maria Elena Nuñez

MP Ligia Zúñiga

MP Federico Vargas Ulloa

MP Elvia Navarro

ECUADOR

MP Galo Oroñez Garte

MP Guadalupe Larriva González

MP Hugo Enríquez

MP Velasco Peña Herrera

MP Héctor Solórzano

MP Roderico Alfredo Martines Escobedo

EL SALVADOR

MP Sara Lillian Coto

GUATEMALA

MP Luís Alberto Velásquez Cerdas

MP Joel Martínez Herrera

MP Reynabel Estrada Roca

MP Waldemar Barrillar Herrera

MP Pablo Manuel Duarte Saez de Tejada

MP Ronnie Danilo Escobar

MP Ovidio Palencia Morales

MP Edwin Armando Martínez Herrera

MEXICO

MP Juan García Costilla

Sen. Cesar Jáuregui Robles

MP Patricia Garduño

MP Rene Arce Islas

MP Carmen Guadalupe Sáenz

Senator Cesar Camacho Quiroz

MP Oscar Martín Ramos Salinas

MP Alfonso Rodríguez Ochoa

MP Sergio Vásquez García

MP Gustavo de Unanue Aguirre

MP Pedro Vásquez González

MP Jesús Martines Álvarez

Sen. Guillermo Herbert Pérez

MP Gaspar Ávila Rodríguez

MP Carlos Mireles Morales

MP Rodrigo Iván Cortes Jiménez

MP Cristina Portillo Ayala

PANAMA

MP Rogelio Paredes

PARAGUAY

MP Nelson Chávez

MP Mario Coronel

MP Julio Colman

MP Edgar Venialgo

PERU

Congressman Humberto Requena Oliva

URUGUAY

MP Jorge Gandini

MP Lilian Kechichian

MP Enrique Pintado

MP Jorge Orrico

MP Jaime Trobo

MP Richard Charamelo

MP Javier Salsamendi

MP Daisy Tourney

MP Gonzalo Novales

Sen. Rafael Michelini

MP Richard Charamello

MP Nora Castro

VENEZUELA

MP Emil Guevara

MP Giusohn Flores

MP Víctor Chirinos

MP Gustavo Hernández

MP José Gregorio Bonaldy

MP Manuel Villalba

MP Víctor Hugo Morales

MP Luis Antonio Bigott

MP Amilcar Figueroa

MP Vidal Cisneros

MP Rafael Correa Flores

1.8 Other Business

No other business was proposed or considered.

The agenda having been completed, the meeting adjourned at 10:55 a.m. In witness whereof, we sign two copies of these minutes of the Second Assembly of Latin American Parliamentarians Against Corruption, each copy having the same contents and authenticity.